Other than chocolate chips cookies, my next favourite type of cookie is none other than oatmeal cookies. Usually, I’ll just use any oatmeal cookies that has many raves but I don’t seem to use these recipes again. So far, none of the oatmeal cookies has entered my favourite category. Yes they’re delicious (most of the time), but there’s nothing special that make it my favourite.

Remembered the oatmeal cookies I made last week? These came close to being my favourite as it matches all the requirements of a good oatmeal cookie, chewy and full of raisins. My friend (who I gave the cookies to) love these cookies and requested for more. Of course, I’m more than happy to bake more cookies for her but with another recipe which I’ve been eyeing to make.

I was very fasinated with Smitten Kitchen’s Crispy Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate cookies! Let’s admit it, it’s very rare to see salt being the star in baking isn’t it? Furthermore, I hardly see white chocolates being used in oatmeal cookies. With her wonderful description which keeps me drooling, I was totally convinced that this is a must try recipe!

The cookies did not disappoint me. I love the slight salty taste as it complements the sweetness from the white chocolate. I believe this has scored well to be my favourite oatmeal cookies!!!

Cripsy Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies
Taken from: Smitten Kitchen

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
14 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

6 ounces good-quality white chocolate bar, chopped (I use Cardbury Dream)

1/2 teapoon flaky sea salt (like Maldon or fleur de sel) (for sprinkling on top) (I use French sea salt)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and table salt in a medium bowl.

2. Beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Scrape down bowl with rubber spatula, then add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated. Scrape down bowl again. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until just incorporated and smooth. Gradually add oats and white chocolate and mix until well incorporated.

3. Divide dough into 24 equal portions, each about 2 tablespoons. Roll between palms into balls, then place on lined baking sheets about 2 1/2 inches apart. Using fingertips, gently press down each ball to about ¾-inch thickness.

4. Sprinkle a flake or two of sea salt on each cookie

5. Bake until cookies are deep golden brown, about 13 to 16 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack to cool.

