I guess the mice have eaten up all the cheese in Singapore coz I can’t find any cream cheese in the supermarkets and even phoon huat’s individual packed cream cheese’s sold out. As cream cheese is essential and a cheaper altenative for Tiramisu, I had no choice but to purchase the 2kg block of cream cheese instead. As a result, I have lots of leftover cheese which also means more excuses for CHEESECAKES!

As I’ve mentioned for the 1000th time, I’m a lazy person therefore, I always prefer a recipe that is fuss free. This is perfect for me because it’s easy, it’s quick and it’s delicious.Β I used crushed digestive biscuits and melted butterΒ instead of vanilla wafer suggested and to make the cheesecakes a little more interesting, I added some cocoa powder to part of the mixture and “layered” the cheesecakes. I also love the idea of making the cheesecakes in cupcake forms because it limits the amount of cakes (fats) I consumed. πŸ™‚

Another recipe I’ve always wanted to try is the Japanese Cheesecake. With so much cream cheese on hand, there’s no more excuse to procrastinate so I’ve finally baked this cake today. I must say that the cheesecake needs a little planning as the preparation can be quite time consuming. Nevertheless, the end result is definitely worth the effort.

Anyhow, one interesting thing that happened was that while making the japanese cheesecake, my friend called and I have to meet her immediately. Since I was in a rush due to the unexpected call, I was off duty after the cake is popped into the oven and the sister was asked to “look after the fire”. As the sister had no experience in baking and the instructions was not that straught forward, I was still pretty worried but was surprised that, the cake is still safe and sound when I came back. Guess she must have some talent with baking or that luck is with her today.

