I’m finally back on the baking scene with something devilish – Devil’s Food Cupcake!

After a loooong break from all the baking, I’ve finally decide to get back on track today. I had devil’s food chocolate cake on mind but all the recipes I came across requires some effort with the eggs till I came across one recipe where almost all the ingredients are simply beat together on the very first step. Needless to say, the recipe is perfect for the lazy me!

The cupcakes are yummy, moist and soft and not overly sweet. I was a little surprise because I was a little doubtful with the result initially due to the uncommon steps in the recipe. However, I will suggest adding a little melted chocolate to enhance the chocolate taste as I thought it was not chocolatey enough.

Devil’s Food Chocolate Cupcakes
(I halved the recipe)
Yields 12
Source: Cupcake Bakeshop

1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetend cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 milk
1/4 cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

1. Measure out everything but the eggs directly into your mixer bowl.
2. Mix on low speed just until incorporated.
3. Beat on high speed for 2 minutes.
4. Add eggs, beat on high speed again for 2 minutes.

Spoon into cupcake liners and bake for 15-20 min till a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool slightly in the pan then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Note: My oven took 17 minutes.

