Aren’t they cute? It brings a smile to my face when I see them being cut out beautifully.

Anyway, I use the simple butter cookie from Sweet Decadenze’s blog. It’s my first time making roll-and-cut-out cookies and I think I’ll only make these cookies again when I’m very free or when I’m hit by Mickey craze again coz I hate the clean-up part due to the mess I’ve created.

As I’m a lazy person, I like the simple steps and simple ingredients used. In fact, the recipe seems relatively simply. The problem is cutting out the cookies. Initially, the ears of Mickey broke then, when I’ve finally master the skills of cutting them out nicely without breaking the ears, the face is stucked in the cutters.

Anyway, I’m so in love with Mickey that I simply forgot the existance of Minnie Mouse coz I was too happy cutting Mickey out instead. And yes, I’m one of those weird girls who prefer mickey to minnie. However, I think I’ll probably change my opinion about Minnie because they are much more easier to cut out than Mickey because the flower (or bow) acts as support to the ears thus they don’t break as easily.

On the whole, these cookies are not as buttery as I thought they will be. I think they’re great for breakfast dipped with milo or any other beverage.

Well, these cookies will probably last a few more days since they’re simply tooooo cute to be eaten yea? =D

P/S: I press the outer cutter onto the dough, then stamp the face before taking out the “cut-outs”. I’m not sure whether it’s suppose to be used this way but as long as they turns out ok, who cares which is the right way yea?

Simple Butter Cookies
180g cake flour
20g corn flour
100g butter, room temperature
80g caster sugar
1 egg yolk

  • Sift together flours in a medium bowl.  Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, add the sugar to the butter in 3 additions and beat till light and fluffy.
  • Beat in egg until combined.
  • Add in the flour mixture in 3 additions and stir with a spatula to form a soft dough .
  • Double wrap dough in plastic wrap, flatten with a rolling pin and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  • Preheat oven to 150°C.
  • Line a baking sheet with baking paper.
  • Remove dough from refrigerator and roll it out on a slightly floured working surface.
  • Cut out dough with slightly-floured cookie cutters.
  • Bake for 15-18 minutes, one tray at a time.
  • Cool on baking sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.
