If there’s a kitchen god, I may need his blessings. 

Perhaps I should change my name to the DISASTROUS QUEEN. Seems like clumsiness is in my blood and I’ve created a big mess in the kitchen today again.

First, the bowl of flour was toppled. Then I accidentally cooked the egg white while attempting Taste Goblet’s meringue buttercream because I was too distracted with talking with my sister. On the second attempt, the whipping of egg white was fine but some how the buttercream refuse to thicken up despite whipping for more than 15 minutes. Needless to say, the attempts failed and I feel as if my arms are breaking after holding the mixer for such a long time. The worst thing is I created such a big mess in the kitchen as the “buttercream” was splatterring all over. So now, I’m not only upset about the failures, I’m tired and I have to clear up the big mess I created. I seriously need some blessing from the kitchen god yea?

Anyhow, the oreo cupcakes still turn out pretty ok. The cream cheese frosting (back up plan) compliment pretty well with the cupcakes, thanks to Elyn who experiment with this idea first.

Despite the failure this time, I’m definitely going to attempt the meringue buttercream (when I feel that my arms need a little exercising) again. And do try making the oreo cupcakes if you’re a fan of oreo too.

Oreo Cupcakes

2 1/4 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 egg whites, room temperature
3/4 cup milk
1 1/4 cups crushed oreo cookies (10 cookies)

Preheat oven to 350F, line 12 muffin tins with cupcake or muffin liners.
Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.
In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
Add in vanilla extract then add in the egg whites one at a time, making sure each is fully incorparated before adding the next.
Working in 4 or 5 additions, alternately add the dry ingredients and the milk to the wet ingredients. Keep the mixer on low speed while doing so.
When just combined, stir in the crushed oreos.
Spoon batter evenly into liners, filling each about 2/3 full.
Bake for 15-18 minutes or till a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
Cool completely on wire rack then store in air tight container.

Source: Baking Bites

